News 2010

December 2010

23-12-2010
The Double Chooz collaboration recently completed its neutrino detector which will see anti-neutrinos coming from the Chooz nuclear power plant in the French Ardennes. The experiment is now ready to take data in order to measure fundamental neutrino properties with important consequences for particle and astro-particle physics.             contacts:       Thierry LASSERRE Christian VEYSSIERE    
15-12-2010
The hot gas found in stars produced by laser pulses
A major international collaboration [1], involving researchers from the CEA-IRFU Astrophysics Department, CEA-IRAMIS and CEA-DAM, has succeeded in measuring for the first time the effects of light absorption by nickel in high temperature plasmas similar to those found around Cepheid-type variable stars. These stars are important indicators of distance in the Universe. They exhibit a periodic pulsing behavior caused by sudden increases in the absorption of light by the hot gas surrounding the star.
14-12-2010
At a meeting in Brussels of the NUPECC Committee(1) on December 9, the researchers presented their long term plan for maintaining the leading position currently enjoyed by European institutions in the field of nuclear physics. The Spiral2 project in Caen, a collaboration between the CNRS/IN2P3(2) and the CEA/DSM(3), is one of the projects already contributing to this European strategy.
07-12-2010
High field magnetic resonance imaging at field strengths at or above 7 tesla appears to be one of the most promising techniques for the early detection of neurological pathologies. Currently beyond the reach of most MRI system manufacturers, this imaging technology is beset with new technological difficulties. The CEA Iseult project team (IRFU and I2BM) has now overcome one of these problems; the homogeneous excitation of atomic nuclei using parallel transmission.
02-12-2010
The first lead-lead collision results have been published
After almost a year collecting data from proton-proton collisions, the LHC at CERN began the injection of lead ions at the beginning of November, with the first collisions obtained on November 8. The energy in the nucleon-nucleon center of mass is 2.76 TeV, around ten times greater than that achieved previously by the RHIC in Brookhaven USA. The first results from ALICE have been made available without delay.
 

November 2010

29-11-2010
A team of physicists, engineers and technicians from IRFU are developing a new generation of MicroMegas trackers. The planned Compass II experiment at CERN, together with the Clas12 experiment at the Jefferson Lab, will impose new operational constraints preventing the current generation of trackers from working with nominal performance. Tests on a new generation of detectors have been carried out using particle beams generated at CERN.
26-11-2010
In August 2010 at CERN in Geneva, a team of physicists from SEDI and SPP working in collaboration with a group from ETH-Zurich obtained the first successful results from a MicroMegas detector operating in a time projection chamber filled with pure cryogenic argon at a temperature of 87.2 kelvin.       
05-11-2010
An international team of astronomers, including several French researchers, has just completed a precise measurement of the distance to five distant galaxies using the ESA Herschel Space Observatory together with ground-based data from the interferometer operated by the Institute for Millimetric Radioastronomy (IRAM)1 . The research team has shown that the light from these galaxies has travelled for around ten thousand million years before reaching Earth.
 

October 2010

07-10-2010
    The instrument known as MUSETT1 detected its first heavy nuclei during a commissioning experiment that took place in early April 2010 at the GANIL2 accelerator in Caen. MUSETT was built for identifying very heavy elements: transfermium, which are the elements beyond fermium (Z=100).  Nuclear physicists are interested in these extreme state of matter for testing the theoretical models that describe the nuclei.
04-10-2010
The most famous collision of galaxies decoded using ‘high-resolution’ simulations
‘High-resolution’ numerical simulations carried out by scientists at the Astrophysics Department of the CEA-Irfu/AIM  have just revealed that the most famous galactic collision ever, the Antennae collision, produces far more stars than observations suggested. When two galaxies meet, the resulting gas compression causes the ignition of new stars. Until now, it seemed that these new stars appeared only in high-density regions, mainly near the core of the collision.

September 2010

16-09-2010
National press release 15.09.10
   The Planck satellite has just discovered a supercluster of galaxies thanks to its imprint on fossil radiation—witness to the first moments in the life of the Universe. This is a first for the satellite, which also revealed new clusters of galaxies with great precision.      These objects, which contain hundreds or thousands of galaxies, are the largest known structures in the Universe.
 

August 2010

26-08-2010
The CoRoT satellite reveals the magnetic cycle of a star
An international team[1] led by a CEA astrophysicist of the AIM Laboratory- Astrophysics Department of the CEA-Irfu has observed, for the first time, the cycle of magnetic activity in a star using stellar seismology - the study of vibrations in a star.  The observations of HD49933 by the CoRoT[2] satellite revealed an cycle of magnetic activity identical to that seen in the Sun, but much shorter.
05-08-2010
Paris was the first to hear about the LHC's initial physics results
The 35th International Conference on High-Energy Physics was held at the Palais des Congrès in Paris from 22 to 28 July—an opportunity for the LHC teams to present their first results. IRFU is involved in three of the four major collaborative projects that have set up their detectors at the collision points in the ring: Alice, Atlas, and CMS. Our teams have contributed in particular to some fundamental analyses for the control of the detectors, whose performance has exceeded expectations.   
05-08-2010
The CDF and D0 experiments announce their new results in the search for the Higgs Boson
Physicist working on the CDF and D0 experiments using Fermilab's Tevatron accelerator in Chicago, including scientists from IN2P3/CNRS and IRFU/CEA, announced their latest results on 26 July at the International Conference on High-Energy Physics (ICHEP 2010) in Paris. Their measurement further constrain the Higgs boson mass domain still open within the standard model of particle physics. This means that CDF and D0 have ruled out a Higgs Boson with a mass between 158 and 175 GeV/c2.
 

July 2010

09-07-2010
The giant gas ring in Leo, formed when two galaxies collided
An international team led by astrophysicists from the Lyon Observatory (CRAL, CNRS/INSU, Université Lyon 1) and the AIM laboratory (CEA-Irfu, CNRS, Université Paris 7) has just shed some light on the origins of the giant gas ring in Leo.  The astrophysicists were able to detect an optical counterpart to this cloud, which corresponds to stars in formation, using the Canada-France-Hawaii telescope (INSU-CNRS, CNRC, U. Hawaii).
06-07-2010
   The pion, predicted by Yukawa in 1935 and discovered in 1947, was the first of a family of particles called mesons: a family that has continued to grow ever since. Ordinary mesons consist of a quark and an antiquark. The theory of strong interaction also predicts the existence of more complex mesons, called ‘exotic' mesons. The existence of exotic mesons has not yet been formally proven, but scientists have been searching for them for over more than a decade.
05-07-2010
  The ESS (European Spallation Source) will be the most powerful neutron source in the world. The increased intensity of neutron beams obtained by the spallation method and through the development of new observation methods will allow scientists to analyse and understand phenomena occurring on an atomic and molecular level. Construction of the ESS in Lund should begin soon, with a view to its being commissioned at the end of the decade. 
 

June 2010

09-06-2010
Numerical simulations show new moons forming now from the rings
Numerical simulations peformed by a group of astrophysicists of the  AIM-CEA Saclay Laboratory  (University Paris Diderot, CEA, CNRS) and the Nice observatory, based on images collected by the Cassini mission, show that some tiny moons of Saturn are still forming now from material of the Saturn's rings, some billion years after the  end of the formation of planets and satellites inside the Solar system. The simulations can also give some clues about the formation of the Earth's moon.
 

May 2010

27-05-2010
Molecular clouds reveal a giant outburst of the supermassive black hole at the centre of the Galaxy
The central black hole of the Galaxy, today surprisingly quiet, has undergone, several hundred years ago, a violent phase of activity. This is the conclusion reached by an international team led by astrophysicists of the APC laboratory and including scientists of the Service d'Astrophysique of CEA-Irfu, by studying the high energy emission of molecular clouds located in the central regions of the Galaxy.
21-05-2010
The D0 experiment at the Tevatron accelerator at Fermilab (Chicago), in which physicists from CEA/IRFU and CNRS/IN2P3 are involved, has measured a significant matter-antimatter _asymmetry_ in the behaviour of particles containing b quarks, known as B mesons (or beauty mesons) beyond the predictions of the standard model (the current theory of particle physics). This result has been submitted for publication in the Journal Physical Review D.
20-05-2010
First images of the farthest massive galaxies
An international team of astronomers led by Dr. Masato Onodera at the Astrophysical Department of the Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique in France [1] has used the Subaru Telescope [2] to take an infrared spectra of a very distant, extremely bright, massive elliptical galaxy. This galaxy is 10 billion light-years from Earth and is observed at time when the Universe was only about one-quarter of its current age.
20-05-2010
Promising scientific results for the largest space telescope
One year on from the launch of the Herschel European satellite, the European Space Agency (ESA) is carrying out an initial scientific assessment of the mission, starting with the first symposium of Herschel scientific results, held from 4th to 7th May on the ESTEC site in Noordwijk (Netherlands).The scientific community has been analyzing the initial data received since Herschel was declared 'science-ready' in September 2009.

April 2010

23-04-2010
IRFU (the Institute for Research on the Fundamental Laws of the Universe) has created the first prototype of the Alexia system, an automatic solution preparation system containing the radioactive tracers required for medical imaging using the scintigraphy technique.   This project is based on a partnership between radiopharmacists from the Frederic Joliot hospital (SHFJ, DSV) and engineers from IRFU and LIST (DRT).
22-04-2010
Delivery of the Flight Model for a launch planned to take place in 2014
The Astrophysics Department of CEA-Irfu, which has scientific and technical responsibility for the MIRIM imager (Mid Infrared Imager) on the MIRI spectro-imager, one of the major instruments of the forthcoming James Webb Space Telescope (JWST), has just delivered the final model of the imager to the Appleton Rutherford laboratory in England, who will carry out the final test before the delivering it for integration into the JWST at the start of 2011 [1].
19-04-2010
Supernovae will no longer escape from physicists!
The SNLS collaboration (Supernova Legacy Survey, at the Canada-France-Hawaii telescope) has just published a new method which allows the determination of the recession velocity of supernovae, those "standard candles" which have appeared in the universe throughout its history. The novelty of the method is its ability to study these cataclysmic explosions without needing to turn to spectroscopy, which requires too much observation time, even when using the planet's largest telescopes.
16-04-2010
Thierry Lasserre, a physicist at IRFU, has received the Bronze medal in the CNRS awards for 2009
On April 14, Thierry Lasserre received the CNRS bronze medal from the new director of the In2p3, Jacques Martino. Since 1954, CNRS has awarded three medals each year to renowned researchers or promising young scientists. This Bronze Medal rewards a researcher's first work, which marks that person as a promising specialist in his or her field. The work of Thierry Lasserre concerned the most abundant massive particle in the universe: the neutrino.

March 2010

24-03-2010
High resolution mapping of the first light in the Universe
Following its launch on 14 May 2009, the Planck satellite [1] has been continually observing the celestial vault and has mapped the entire sky since 13 August to obtain the first very high resolution image of the dawn of the universe. The Planck satellite has just finished its first sky coverage. The preliminary images reveal undreamed of details of emissions of gas and dust in our own galaxy.
02-03-2010
The LHC is about to start up for an initial two-year period of data acquisition which will produce a flow rate and volume of data among the largest that the man has ever needed to process. During recent tests under real conditions, the Paris region research grid (GRIF) was able to provide the required performance, allowing physicists to access reconstructed data only four hours after it had been recorded at CERN. In 2010, the volume of data to process will be 100 times larger.
01-03-2010
The first asteroseismology results from the KEPLER satellite
The space mission KEPLER, launched in March 2009 to investigate exoplanets, has just delivered its first results on the vibrations of stars. Several international teams of scientists, including members of the Astrophysics Division (CEA-Irfu) have shown, using this first data, that starquakes not only make it possible to probe the interior of stars but they also allow determination of their age and tell us whether or not the stars belong to a cluster.
 

February 2010

26-02-2010
The influence of particle acceleration
For the first time, the events following the explosion of a star have now been simulated in three dimensions by a team from the Astrophysics Division of CEA-IRFU. The simulation includes the significant contribution of particles accelerated by the shock that is produced in the expansion. Until now, these complex simulations have concentrated either on calculating movement of the expanding ejected material, or on calculating particle acceleration.
25-02-2010
The Phenix and Star collaborations, which include physicists from CEA-IRFU and CNRS-IN2P3, have announced major discoveries on the nature of the quark-gluon plasma. These conclusive results, which advance our understanding of nuclear material subjected to extreme conditions, shed new light on the birth of the universe. They have been published in the journal Physical Review Letters.  
18-02-2010
Increasing the available laser power results in an high intense production of secondary particles (photons, neutrons). These constitute a radiological risk which needs to be assessed and controlled. Hence, fifty years after the production of the first laser, the use of the new generation research lasers requires a new expertise, specific to radiological risks.     IRFU, which has the knowledge required to meet this need, recently finalised two important studies.
17-02-2010
Forest fires are a constant danger, particularly for arid countries. They act as a brake on economic development and are a threat to environment, by the large scale release of greenhouse gases as well as by the destruction of ecosystems.
16-02-2010
In Japan at the end of January 2010, the detectors of the Tokai to Superkamiokande (T2K, [ti:tu:kei]), developed at Saclay, observed their first neutrinos. These detectors consist of two large chambers where the tracks of charged particles are able to be reconstructed and the neutrino beam can be characterized. In this experiment, neutrinos are created by a proton beam coming from the Tokai accelerator.
15-02-2010
The CHyMENE project (Cible d'Hydrogène Mince pour l'Etude des Noyaux Exotiques -Thin hydrogen target for the study of exotic nuclei) has the ambitious goal of producing a thin target of pure hydrogen, without using a container, suitable for experiments using the low-energy heavy ion beam planned for SPIRAL2.     A team from IRFU (SPhN and SACM) and from l'Inac/SBT have recently applied cryogenic techniques to successfully produce a ribbon of solid hydrogen 100 μm thick.
09-02-2010
A company from the Vosges Department in France, NEOTEC, received the 2009 "Outstanding Implementations" award, at the International MIDEST Exhibition attended by the Industry Minister, Christian Estrosi, for their production of very special chambers. This equipment forms part of an important component of the Double-Chooz experiment which, before the end of the year, will measure neutrinos emitted by the reactor at the Chooz nuclear power station in the Ardennes.  
 

January 2010

17-01-2010
  Since 1995, the Accelerators, Cryogenics and Magnetism Division (SACM) has initiated a software development  for designing structures and simulating beam transport in accelerators. Since 2000, these codes have been distributed to many laboratories and companies around the world. This professional software suite is now distributed under license from the CEA. 
01-01-2010
SpacewireCEA: new computer software for transferring images from space
The Space Electronics Laboratory (LEDES) of the (CEA-IRFU) Astrophysics Division has recently signed a partnership agreement with the industrial company Skylab Industries to manufacture and distribute space equipment including the computer software known as "SpacewireCEA" which was initially developed at the CEA for the PACS infrared camera on the Herschel satellite. This software, which is integrated into the on-board electronics, is able to transfer observational data at a high rate from the space instruments.

 

Retour en haut

Actualités 2010

Décembre 2010

23 décembre 2010
Double Chooz est une expérience installée auprès du réacteur nucléaire de Chooz, dans les Ardennes françaises, dont le but est d'étudier les oscillations de neutrinos. Après plus de deux ans de construction du détecteur et son remplissage des 237 m3 d'huiles et de liquides scintillant, le premier détecteur de l'expérience Double Chooz est en prise de données depuis le 22 décembre 2010. Après une phase de ... Lire la suite »
15 décembre 2010
Le gaz chaud des étoiles recréé par des tirs laser
Une large collaboration internationale [1], incluant des chercheurs du Service d'Astrophysique du CEA-Irfu, CEA-IRAMIS et le CEA-DAM, vient de mesurer pour la première fois les effets de l'absorption de la lumière par le nickel dans des plasmas à très hautes températures, similaires à ceux qui existent dans l'enveloppe de certaines étoiles variables de type Cépheïdes. Ces étoiles qui sont un des indicateurs importants de distance dans l'univers, ... Lire la suite »
14 décembre 2010
Réunis à Bruxelles au sein de Nupecc(1), les chercheurs ont présenté le 9 décembre leur plan à long terme qui vise à préparer l’avenir et conforter la place de premier plan occupée par l’Europe dans le domaine de la physique nucléaire. Le projet Spiral2 à Caen, qui réunit le CNRS/IN2P3(2) et le CEA/DSM(3), fait partie des projets déjà engagés dans le cadre de la stratégie ... Lire la suite »
07 décembre 2010
L’imagerie par résonance magnétique à haut champ (≥ 7 teslas) apparaît comme une des voies les plus prometteuses dans le dépistage précoce des pathologies neurologiques. Au-delà des savoir-faire industriels en matière d’IRM, cette imagerie se heurte à des difficultés techniques nouvelles. L’équipe du CEA (Irfu et I2BM) du projet Iseult vient d’en franchir une. Il s’agit d’assurer une excitation ... Lire la suite »
06 décembre 2010
Dans le cadre du programme européen EUDET, débuté en 2006 et qui s’achève cet automne 2010, un nouveau télescope de faisceau vient équiper les infrastructures de tests en Europe. Il va permettre aux physiciens utilisateurs de mettre à l’épreuve leurs détecteurs et de faire progresser la R&D sur les capteurs de grande précision. En effet ce télescope de faisceau est très performant : entièrement digital, de ... Lire la suite »
02 décembre 2010
Publication des premiers résultats des collisions plomb-plomb
Après presque une année de prises de données en collisions proton-proton, le LHC du CERN a commencé l’injection d’ions de plomb début novembre et a très vite délivré des collisions dès le 8 novembre. L’énergie dans le centre de masse nucléon-nucléon est de 2,76 TeV, environ 10 fois supérieure à celle atteinte précédement au RHIC de Brookhaven (USA). Les premiers résultats d'ALICE ne ... Lire la suite »

Novembre 2010

29 novembre 2010
Des physiciens, ingénieurs et techniciens de l'Irfu mettent au point la prochaine génération de détecteurs de traces de type Micromegas. Les futures expériences de Compass au Cern et de Clas12 au Jefferson Lab,  apportent de nouvelles contraintes de fonctionnement dont certaines sont telles que les détecteurs actuels ne peuvent les supporter tout en gardant leurs performances. Des tests de détecteurs comportant de nouvelles caractéristiques ont ... Lire la suite »
26 novembre 2010
En août 2010, au Cern (Genève), une équipe des physiciens du Sédi et du SPP, en collaboration avec un groupe de l'ETH-Zurich, a fait fonctionner avec succès et pour la première fois un détecteur Micromégas dans une chambre à projection temporelle à argon pur cryogénique (température de 87,2 kelvins).         Une chambre à projection temporelle (TPC) est un volume dans lequel les électrons ... Lire la suite »
05 novembre 2010
Une équipe internationale d’astronomes, comprenant plusieurs chercheurs français, vient de mesurer l’éloignement exact de cinq galaxies très lointaines, grâce à l'observatoire spatial Herschel de l'ESA et à des observations au sol, impliquant notamment l’interféromètre de l’Institut de radioastronomie millimétrique1 . Les chercheurs ont ainsi démontré que la lumière de ces galaxies avait dû voyager ... Lire la suite »
 

Octobre 2010

07 octobre 2010
    L’instrument MUSETT1 a détecté ses premiers noyaux lourds lors d’une phase de tests qui a eu lieu au début du mois d’avril 2010 auprès de l’accélérateur du GANIL2 à Caen. MUSETT a été construit dans le but d’identifier les éléments très lourd, les transfermiens, c'est à dire les éléments situés au-delà du fermium (Z=100). Les physiciens nucléaires ... Lire la suite »
04 octobre 2010
La plus célèbre collision de galaxies décodée par des simulations 'haute résolution'
Des simulations numériques ‘haute résolution’ réalisées par des chercheurs  du Service d'Astrophysique du CEA-Irfu/AIM  viennent de révéler que la plus célèbre collision de galaxies, la collision des Antennes, produit beaucoup plus d'étoiles que ne le laissaient penser les observations. Lors d'une rencontre entre deux galaxies, la compression du gaz entraine l'allumage de nouvelles étoiles. Jusqu'ici, il semblait que ces ... Lire la suite »

Septembre 2010

16 septembre 2010
Communiqué de presse national: 15 septembre 2010
              Le satellite Planck vient de découvrir un superamas de galaxies grâce à son empreinte sur le rayonnement fossile, témoin des premiers instants de l’Univers. Il s’agit d’une première pour le satellite, qui a également révélé, avec une extrême précision, de nouveaux amas de galaxies.   Ces objets, qui abritent des centaines voire des milliers de galaxies, sont les ... Lire la suite »
 

Août 2010

26 août 2010
Le satellite CoRoT révèle le cycle magnétique d’une étoile
Une  équipe internationale [1] menée par un astrophysicien du CEA (Laboratoire AIM- Service d'Astrophysique du CEA-Irfu) a observé pour la première fois le cycle d'activité magnétique dans une étoile en utilisant la technique de sismologie stellaire, étude des vibrations d'un astre. L'étude de HD49933 par le satellite CoRoT a ainsi révélé un cycle d'activité magnétique, identique à celui ... Lire la suite »
05 août 2010
Les expériences CDF et D0 annoncent leurs nouveaux résultats de recherche du boson de Higgs.
Les physiciens travaillant sur les expériences CDF et D0 auprès de l'accélérateur Tevatron de Fermilab (Chicago), dont ceux de l’IN2P3/CNRS et de l’Irfu/CEA, ont annoncé leurs résultats les plus récents le 26 juillet lors de la conférence internationale en physique des hautes énergies ICHEP 2010 à Paris. Leurs mesures contraignent davantage la fraction du domaine de masse du boson de Higgs qui reste autorisée dans le modèle ... Lire la suite »

Juillet 2010

29 juillet 2010
Paris a eu la primeur des premiers résultats de physique du LHC
Du 22 au 28 juillet, s’est déroulée au Palais des congrès de Paris la 35e conférence internationale de physique des hautes énergies (ICHEP), l’occasion pour les équipes du LHC de montrer leurs premiers résultats de physique. L’Irfu est engagé dans trois des quatre grandes collaborations qui ont installé leurs détecteurs aux points de collisions de l’anneau : Alice, Atlas et CMS. Nos équipes ont contribué ... Lire la suite »
06 juillet 2010
Le pion, prédit par Yukawa en 1935 et découvert en 1947, est le premier d'une famille de particules appelées mésons, famille qui n'a pas cessé de s'agrandir depuis.  Les mésons ordinaires sont composés d'un quark et d'un antiquark. La théorie de l'interaction forte prévoit également l'existence de mésons plus complexes, appelés exotiques.  Activement recherchés depuis plus d'une dizaine d'années, leur existence ... Lire la suite »
05 juillet 2010
  L'ESS (European Spallation Source) sera la source de neutrons la plus puissante au monde. Les gains en intensité des faisceaux de neutrons obtenus grâce à la méthode de spallation et à la mise au point de nouvelles méthodes d'observation permettront aux scientifiques d'analyser et de comprendre le déroulement de phénomènes au niveau atomique et moléculaire. Sa construction devrait bientôt commencer à Lund pour une mise en service ... Lire la suite »
 

Juin 2010

30 juin 2010
L'anneau de gaz géant du Lion formé lors de la collision de deux galaxies
Une  équipe internationale menée par des astrophysiciens de l'Observatoire de Lyon (CRAL, CNRS/INSU, Université Lyon 1) et du laboratoire AIM (CEA-Irfu,CNRS,Université Paris 7) vient de lever le voile sur l'origine de l'anneau de gaz géant du Lion. Les astrophysiciens ont pu détecter une contrepartie optique à ce nuage qui correspond à des étoiles en formation avec le télescope Canada-France-Hawaii (INSU-CNRS, CNRC, U. Hawaii). Par le biais ... Lire la suite »
08 juin 2010
Des simulations montrent comment de petites lunes naissent à partir des anneaux
Des simulations numériques réalisées par une équipe d'astrophysiciens du laboratoire AIM-CEA Saclay (Université Paris Diderot, CEA, CNRS) et de l'observatoire de Nice montrent, à partir des observations effectuées avec la mission Cassini, comment certaines petites lunes de Saturne se forment encore actuellement à partir de la matière des anneaux de Saturne, plusieurs milliards d'années après la fin de la formation des planètes et ... Lire la suite »

Mai 2010

27 mai 2010
Les nuages moléculaires révèlent une éruption géante du trou noir central de la Galaxie
Le trou noir central de la Galaxie, aujourd'hui étonnamment calme, a connu il y a plusieurs centaines d'années un violent regain d'activité. C'est en étudiant l'émission à haute énergie des nuages moléculaires situés dans les régions centrales de la Galaxie, qu'une équipe internationale dirigée par des astrophysiciens du laboratoire APC et incluant des chercheurs du Service d'Astrophysique du CEA-Irfu est arrivée à cette ... Lire la suite »
20 mai 2010
Premières images des plus grosses galaxies lointaines
Une équipe internationale d’astronomes dirigée par Masato Onodera du Service d'Astrophysique du CEA-Irfu, travaillant dans le cadre d’un projet financé par l’Agence Nationale de la recherche (ANR)[1], a utilisé le télescope japonais Subaru[2] pour prendre un spectre infrarouge d’une galaxie elliptique massive très lointaine et extrêmement brillante. Cette galaxie est située à 10 milliards d’années-lumière de la ... Lire la suite »
20 mai 2010
Dans le cadre de l'expérience DZero(1) réalisée auprès de l'accélérateur Tevatron de Fermilab(2) (Chicago) et à laquelle participent le CNRS/IN2P3 et le CEA/Irfu, les physiciens ont mesuré une violation significative de la symétrie matière-antimatière dans le comportement des particules contenant des quarks b, appelées "mésons B" (ou "mésons beaux")(3), et ceci au-delà des prédictions du modèle ... Lire la suite »
06 mai 2010
Résultats scientifiques prometteurs pour le plus grand télescope spatial
Un an après le lancement du satellite européen Herschel, l'Agence Spatiale Européenne (ESA) fait un premier bilan scientifique de la mission en organisant du 4 au 7 mai le premier symposium des résultats scientifiques Herschel sur son site de l'ESTEC à Noordwijk (Pays-Bas).Depuis le mois de septembre 2009, date à laquelle Herschel a été déclaré « bon pour la science », les premières données ont été ... Lire la suite »

Avril 2010

26 avril 2010
La source d'ions légers (protons et deutons) du projet SPIRAL2 a délivré mi mars 2010 son premier faisceau d'ions hydrogène. Ce résultat a été obtenu sur l'installation de test des lignes basse énergie à Saclay et marque son début officiel d'activité. Quinze mètres de lignes de l'accélérateur seront ainsi assemblés puis testés dans une casemate par l'Irfu avant d'être installés à Ganil en ... Lire la suite »
23 avril 2010
      L'Institut de recherche sur les lois fondamentales de l'Univers a réalisé le premier prototype du dispositif Alexia, un préparateur automatique de solutions contenant les traceurs radioactifs nécessaires à l'imagerie médicale par scintigraphie.   Ce projet repose sur la collaboration entre des radiopharmaciens du service hospitalier Frederic Joliot (SHFJ, DSV) et des ingénieurs de l'Irfu et du LIST (DRT). Les ... Lire la suite »
22 avril 2010
Livraison du modèle de vol pour un lancement prévu en 2014
Le Service d'Astrophysique du CEA-Irfu, responsable scientifique et technique de l'imageur MIRIM (pour Mid InfaRred IMager ou Imageur pour l'infrarouge Moyen) du spectro-imageur MIRI, un des instruments majeurs du prochain télescope spatial James Webb (JWST), vient de livrer le modèle final de l'imageur au laboratoire Rutherford à Appleton en Angleterre, chargé des derniers tests avant la livraison  pour intégration sur le JWST début 2011. Le JWST, une mission conjointe ... Lire la suite »
19 avril 2010
Les supernovas n’échapperont plus aux physiciens !
La collaboration SNLS (Supernova Legacy Survey, au télescope Canada-France-Hawaï) vient de publier une nouvelle méthode permettant de déterminer la vitesse de récession des supernovas, ces « chandelles standard » qui apparaissent dans l'Univers tout au long de son histoire. La nouveauté est de pouvoir étudier ces explosions cataclysmiques sans avoir recours à l'usage de la spectroscopie, trop gourmande en temps d'observation même sur les plus ... Lire la suite »
14 avril 2010
Thierry Lasserre, physicien à l'Irfu, a reçu la médaille de bronze du CNRS du Palmares 2009
Le 14 avril, Thierry Lasserre a reçu la médaille de bronze du CNRS de la main de nouveau directeur de l'In2p3, Jacques Martino. Depuis 1954, le CNRS attribue chaque année  trois médailles à des chercheurs de renom ou à de jeunes scientifiques prometteurs. Celle de bronze récompense le premier travail d'un chercheur, qui fait de lui un spécialiste prometteur dans son domaine. Celui de Thierry Lasserre concerne la particule de matière la plus abondante ... Lire la suite »
 

Mars 2010

24 mars 2010
Vers la carte haute résolution de la première lumière de l'Univers
Après son lancement le 14 mai 2009, le satellite Planck [1] observe en continu la voûte céleste et cartographie l'ensemble du ciel depuis le 13 août, pour obtenir la première image à très haute résolution de l'aube de l'Univers. Le satellite Planck vient de terminer son premier tour de ciel. Les premières images révèlent des détails insoupçonnés sur l'émission de gaz et de poussières dans notre propre galaxie. ... Lire la suite »
02 mars 2010
Le LHC s'apprête à démarrer pour une première période de prise de données de deux ans qui va produire un flux et une quantité de données parmi les plus importants que l'homme ait jamais eu à traiter. Lors de récents tests en situation réelle, la grille de recherche d'Île-de-France (Grif) a répondu aux performances requises en permettant aux physiciens d'accéder aux données reconstruites seulement quatre heures ... Lire la suite »
01 mars 2010
Premiers résultats astérosismologiques du satellite KEPLER
La mission spatiale étasunienne KEPLER, lancée en Mars 2009 pour la recherche d'exoplanètes, vient de livrer ses premiers résultats sur les vibrations d'étoiles. Plusieurs équipes internationales de chercheurs, incluant des membres du Service d'Astrophysique (CEA-Irfu) ont ainsi montré grâce à ces premières données que les tremblements stellaires permettaient non seulement de sonder l'intérieur des étoiles mais aussi de determiner ... Lire la suite »
 

Février 2010

26 février 2010
L'influence de l'accélération des particules
Pour la première fois, la simulation en trois dimensions des suites d'une explosion d'étoile, en incluant l'importante contribution des particules accélérées par le choc produit par l'expansion, vient d'être réalisée par une équipe du Service d'Astrophysique du CEA-Irfu. Jusqu'ici ces simulations complexes se concentraient ou bien sur le calcul du mouvement d'expansion de la  matière éjectée, ou ... Lire la suite »
25 février 2010
Les collaborations Phenix et Star, qui regroupent notamment des physiciens de l'Irfu/CEA et l'IN2P3/CNRS, ont annoncé des découvertes majeures sur la nature du plasma de quarks et de gluons. Ces résultats décisifs pour la compréhension de la matière nucléaire soumise à des conditions extrêmes apportent un éclairage nouveau sur la naissance de l'Univers. Ils ont été publiés dans la revue Physical Review Letters.
18 février 2010
L'augmentation de la puissance des lasers entraine une production de plus en plus intense de particules secondaires (photons, neutrons). Ces dernières constituent un risque radiologique à mettre sous contrôle. Cinquante ans après la réalisation du premier laser, l'utilisation des lasers de recherche de nouvelle génération implique ainsi une nouvelle expertise, spécifique aux risques radiologiques.     L'Irfu qui possède l'ensemble des ... Lire la suite »
17 février 2010
Les feux de forêt constituent un danger permanent, notamment dans les pays arides. Ils sont un frein au développement économique et une menace pour l'environnement, tant par la forte libération de gaz à effet de serre que par la destruction d'écosystèmes. Le projet FORFIRE, incluant l'utilisation de détecteurs Micromegas1, a reçu le soutien de l'Union Européenne (Programme FP7) pour élaborer un réseau de capteurs sensibles à la ... Lire la suite »
16 février 2010
Fin janvier 2010, au Japon, les détecteurs du projet Tokai to Superkamiokande (T2K, [ti:tu:kei]), développés à Saclay, ont observé leurs premiers neutrinos. Ces détecteurs sont constitués de deux grandes chambres permettant de reconstruire les traces de particules chargées et caractérisent le faisceau de neutrinos. Dans cette expérience, les neutrinos sont créés par un faisceau de protons issu de l'accélérateur de Tokai. ... Lire la suite »
15 février 2010
Le projet CHyMENE (Cible d'Hydrogène Mince pour l'Etude des Noyaux Exotiques) a le but ambitieux de produire une cible mince d'hydrogène pur sans conteneur adaptée aux expériences utilisant des faisceaux d'ions lourds de basse énergie prévus avec SPIRAL2.   Une équipe de l'Irfu (SPhN et SACM) et de l'Inac/SBT utilisant des techniques cryogéniques vient de produire avec succès un ruban d'hydrogène solide de 100 µm d'épaisseur. ... Lire la suite »

Janvier 2010

30 janvier 2010
Une société vosgienne, NEOTEC, a recu le prix de la « réalisation exemplaire » 2009 pour la réalisation de cuves très spéciales, au salon international Midest, en présence du Ministre de l'industrie, Monsieur Christian Estrosi. La réalisation primée fait partie d'un élément important  de l'expérience  Double-Chooz qui mesurera, avant la fin de cette année, des neutrinos émis par le ... Lire la suite »
17 janvier 2010
Depuis 1995, une activité de création de plusieurs logiciels s'est développée au Service des Accélérateurs, de la Cryogénie et du Magnétisme (SACM) afin de concevoir les structures et de simuler le transport de faisceau dans les accélérateurs. Depuis les années 2000, cet ensemble de codes a été distribué dans de nombreux laboratoires et entreprises à travers le monde.  Cette suite logicielle professionnelle ... Lire la suite »
01 janvier 2010
SpacewireCEA : un nouveau micro-logiciel pour transférer les images de l'espace
Le laboratoire d'électronique spatiale (LEDES) du Service d'Astrophysique (CEA-Irfu) vient de signer un accord de partenariat avec la société industrielle Skylab Industrie pour fabriquer et distribuer des équipements spatiaux intégrant le micro-logiciel baptisé "SpacewireCEA" initialement développé au CEA pour la caméra infrarouge PACS du satellite Herschel. Ce logiciel intégré à l'electronique de bord permet le transfert à haut ... Lire la suite »
 
Retour en haut