Sep 16, 2010
Planck: first discovery of a supercluster of galaxies thanks to fossil radiation
National press release 15.09.10

 

 The Planck satellite has just discovered a supercluster of galaxies thanks to its imprint on fossil radiation—witness to the first moments in the life of the Universe. This is a first for the satellite, which also revealed new clusters of galaxies with great precision. 

 

 

These objects, which contain hundreds or thousands of galaxies, are the largest known structures in the Universe. Thanks to these data, scientists hope to gain a better understanding of how dark matter and visible matter come together in the form of these structures.

 


 

 

 

Contacts:

 

Other institutes:

Searchers

Nabila Aghanim  l T 01 69 85 86 46 l nabila.aghanim@ias.u-psud.fr

Monique Arnaud  l T 01 69 08 20 41 l monique.arnaud@cea.fr

 

CNRS (press) l Priscilla Dacher l T 01 44 96 46 06 l priscilla.dacher@cnrs-dir.fr

 INSU-CNRS (Communication) l Philippe Chauvin l T 06 33 50 18 97 l philippe.chauvin@cnrs-dir.fr

CNES (press)l Gwenaëlle Verpeaux l T  01 44 76 74 04 l gwenaelle.verpeaux@cnes.fr

Julien Watelet l T  01 44 76 78 37 l julien.watelet@cnes.fr

CEA (press)l Stéphane Laveissière l T 01 64 50 27 53 l Stephane.Laveissiere@cea.fr

 

 

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

Last update : 10/13 2010 (2873)

 

Retour en haut