Maison de la Simulation

Maison de la Simulation


Maison de la Simulation (CEA/CNRS/Inria/UPS/UVSQ), Paris, France and University of Alabama at Huntsville, USA will organize ASTRONUM 2015 – the 10th Annual International Conference on Numerical Modeling of Space Plasma Flows in Avignon, France 8 - 12 June, 2015.

The conference will cover the following topics:

(1) Advanced numerical methods for space, astrophysical and geophysical flows;
(2) Large-scale fluid-based, kinetic, and hybrid simulations;
(3) Turbulence and cosmic ray transport;
(4) Magnetohydrodynamics
(5) Software packages for modeling and analyzing plasma flows / Visualisation with the application to

(1) Physics of the Sun-Heliosphere-Magnetosphere;
(2) Interstellar medium and star formation;
(3) Cosmology and galaxy formation;
(4) Dynamo effect;
(5) Stellar Physics.

The purpose of the conference is to bring together leading experts in applied mathematics, space physics, astrophysics, and geophysics to discuss the application of novel numerical algorithms and petascale paral- lelization strategies to computationally challenging problems.

The conference will be structured around invited, 40-minute keynote and 25-minute regular talks, and a limited number of contributed talks, with the attempt to have no parallel sessions.

E-mail inquiries about the meeting should be directed to Nikolai.Pogorelov@uah.edu and Edouard.Audit@cea.fr.

Program Committee: Tahar Amari (CNRS Ecole Polytechnique), Edouard Audit (CEA, Maison de la Simulation, co-chair), Phillip Colella (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), José María Ibañez (University of Valencia), Ewald Müller (Max-Planck-Institute for Astrophysics, Garching), Nikolai Pogorelov (UAHuntsville, chair), Kazunari Shibata (Kyoto University), James Stone (Princeton Univer- sity), Brian Van Straalen (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), Gary P. Zank (UAHuntsville).

Local Organizing Committee: Edouard Audit (CEA, Maison de la Simulation), Valérie Belle (CEA, Maison de la Simulation), Adeline Holton (CEA, Maison de la Simulation), Bruno Thooris (CEA/IRFU Saclay).